The 36 States and Capital

Nigeria as a country is divided into 6 geo-political zones when it comes to its administration. Each of this zone has at the very least, six states. While the Federal Capital Territory (FCT) serves as the chief administration state.

Nigeria has over 200 million people from various ethnicity and religion. Nigeria is made up of 36 States with the Federal Capital Territory as the sole administrator.


Each of the 36 States is a semi-autonomous political and they share power in power with the Federal Government.

The state is further structured with Local Government Areas (LGA) within, for grassroots level participation. Nigeria has about 774 local government areas currently functioning.

We would list out the 36 states and capitals with also their slogans, below:

The 36 States and Capital

Abia StateUmuahiaGod’s Own State
Adamawa StateYolaLand of Beauty
Akwa Ibom StateUyoLand of Promise
Anambra StateAwkaLight of the Nation
Bauchi StateBauchiPearl of Tourism
Bayelsa StateYenagoaGlory of All Land
Benue StateMakurdiFood Basket of the Nation
Borno StateMaiduguriHome of Peace
Cross River StateCalabarThe People’s Paradise
Delta StateAsabaThe Big Heart
Ebonyi StateAbakalikiSalt of the Nation
Edo StateBenin CityThe Heartbeat of the Nation
Ekiti StateAdo-EkitiFountain of Knowledge
Enugu StateEnuguCoal City State
Federal Capital TerritoryAbuja 
Gombe StateGombeJewel in the Savannah
Imo StateOwerriEastern Heartland
Jigawa StateDutseThe New World
Kaduna StateKadunaCentre of Learning
Kano StateKanoCentre of Commerce
Katsina StateKatsinaHome of Hospitality
Kebbi StateBirnin KebbiLand of Equity
Kogi StateLokojaThe Confluence State
Kwara StateIlorinThe State of Harmony
LagosIkejaCentre of Excellence
Nasarawa StateLafiaHome of Solid Minerals
Niger StateMinnaThe Power State
Ogun StateAbeokutaGateway State
Ondo StateAkureSunshine State
Osun StateOshogboLand of Virtue
Oyo StateIbadanPace Setter
Plateau StateJosHome of Peace & Tourism
Rivers StatePort HarcourtTreasure Base of the Nation
Sokoto StateSokotoSeat of the Caliphate
Taraba StateJalingoNature’s Gift to the Nation
Yobe StateDamaturuPride of Sahel
Zamfara StateGusauFarming is Our Pride

What You Need to Know About the Creation of States

Prior to the creation of the 36 States in Nigeria, between 1960 and 1963, Nigeria only had 3 regions: Eastern, Western, and Northern Region.


Then it increased to 4 regions from 1963 and 1967. General Yakubu Gowon was the first Head of State to create 12 states. These States created were: Rivers, Cross Rivers, Bendel, Western States, Lagos State, Benue-Plateau, Kaduna, Kwara, Kano, North-Western State, and North-Eastern State.

Slowly, through the addition of more states, it increased to 19 states. In 1991, it increased to 21 states. It became 36 states and capital in 1996 when Abacha was head of State.

Related: Private Universities in Nigeria


We gave a comprehensive rundown of the 36 States and capital, and their slogans. We also gave a brief history of how the 36 States were created.


Leave a Reply